Franklin James Cook

Star Athlete Tells of Comeback from Suicidal Despair

In Mental Illness, Postvention on November 29, 2008 at 10:44 am

stevegurney2ORIGINAL REVIEW — A review in the New Zealand Sunday News shares with readers the story of world-class endurance athlete Steve Gurney “who has spent a lifetime pushing himself to his absolute limits” and in his new book, Lucky Legs: What I’ve Learned About Winning, “has revealed how he battled depression and almost committed suicide.”

In his book … the nine-time Coast to Coast winner has opened up about his biggest challenge overcoming depression and how during his “darkest hour” he almost killed himself.

In an excerpt from Chapter 12,  titled “I’m Not Dead Yet,” Gurney writes:

The depression went on for six months–six months of misery and inability to act. My darkest hour was in the middle of one dark night in February 1995. My house has a flat roof that overhangs a cliff. I found myself standing on the edge of the roof. I could hear the distant noise of traffic and the sea. I looked down at the power lines and I felt like jumping … At that point, death seemed like a realistic solution … But there was a tiny spark that said, “Don’t jump. All you have to do is hang in there. It’s just like a long endurance race, and you’re an expert at that” … I set about finding a way out of the depression …

Leave a Reply

